South Carolina is one of only twenty-three states that require optician licensing by law. Rules and regulations regarding optician training requirements, licensing, and certification are established by the South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation. The following information will be relevant to you if you are wanting to be licensed as an optician in the state of South Carolina.
South Carolina State Opticianry Law:
It is unlawful for a person to practice as an optician without being licensed. A person who displays a sign or in any way advertises himself to be an optician is deemed to be practicing opticianry within the law.
General Eligibility Requirements:
- Graduated from an accredited public or private high school or secondary school of equal grade approved by the board or has completed an equivalent course of study approved by the board.
Technical Skills and Training Requirements:
- Must complete one of the following…
- Graduated from a two-year school of opticianry
- Had two years’ apprenticeship under a South Carolina licensed optician, optometrist, or ophthalmologist
- A currently valid optician’s license in another state
- Been engaged in opticianry for not less than two years in a state that does not license opticians
- The National Opticianry Competency Examination administered by the American Board of Opticianry
- The National Contact Lens Registry Examination administered by the National Contact Lens Examiners
- South Carolina practical examination administered twice per year in Columbia, SC.
- There is a $295 practical examination fee
Fees and Forms:
- Licensure Application, $25
- Contact Lens Application, $25
- Apprentice Application, $20
State Contact Information:
Phone: (803) 896-4681
Fax: (803) 896-4719
Board of Examiners in Opticianry
PO Box 11329
Columbia, SC 29211-1329
State Association: South Carolina Association of Opticians