North Carolina is one of only twenty-three states that require optician licensing by law. Rules and regulations regarding optician training requirements, licensing, and certification are established by the North Carolina State Board of Opticians. The following information will be relevant to you if you are wanting to be licensed as an optician in the state of North Carolina.
North Carolina State Opticianry Law:
No person or combination of persons shall for pay, or reward, either directly or indirectly, practice as a dispensing optician as hereinafter defined in the State of North Carolina without a certificate of registration issued pursuant to the provisions of this Article by the North Carolina State Board of Opticians.
General Eligibility Requirements:
- At least 18 years of age
- A high school graduate or equivalent
- Of good moral character
Technical Skills and Training Requirements:
- Completed a six–month internship by working full time under the supervision of a licensed optician, optometrist, or physician trained in ophthalmology, in order to demonstrate proficiency in the areas of measurement of the face, and fitting and adjusting glasses and frames to the face, lens recognition, lens design, and prescription interpretation.
- Must fulfill one of the following…
- Completed a two–year course of training in an accredited school of opticianry with a minimum of 1600 hours
- Completed three and one–half years of apprenticeship while registered with the Board under a licensed dispensing optician, with time spent in a recognized school credited as part of the apprenticeship period
Opticianry Degree Programs:
Durham Technical Community College, located in Durham, offers a 2-year Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) Degree in Opticianry. This program satisfies the educational requirements established by the North Carolina State Board of Opticians. If you are interested in enrolling in this program, you will be required to complete the following tasks:
- Complete enrollment application
- Attend student orientation
- Submit official high school transcripts
- Submit transcripts from previous colleges
- Complete placement tests
- Complete the English Language Requirement Form
- Meet with an advisor to complete a Comprehensive Education Plan
- Complete all developmental courses
- An examination conducted by the Board which shall be confined to such knowledge as is reasonably necessary to engage in preparation and dispensing of optical devices.
- The examination shall be given at least twice each year at sites and on dates that are publicly announced 60 days in advance.
Licensure by Reciprocity:
The Board shall grant a license without examination to any applicant who…
- Is at least 18 years of age
- Is of good moral character
- Holds a license in good standing as a dispensing optician in another state
- Has engaged in the practice of opticianry in the other state for four years immediately preceding the application to the Board
- Has not violated the rules of the Board
Fees and Forms:
- Application for Examination, $200
- Non-licensed State Application, $200
- Apprenticeship Application, $25
- Internship Application, $25
- Application for Examination
- Non-licensed State Application
- Apprenticeship Application
- Internship Application
- Other Forms
State Contact Information:
Phone: (919) 733-9321
Fax: (919) 733-0040
E-mail: Submit Here
NC State Board of Opticians
PO Box 6758
Raleigh, NC 27628-6758
Web Site: North Carolina State Board of Opticians
State Association: North Carolina Opticians Association
Current Job Offerings:
OPTICIAN – Licensed or non-licensed for upscale optometric practice in uptown Charlotte, NC. Must be a great sales person and knowledgeable in the optical field.
Office hours are 7:30AM – 4:30PM, Monday-Friday. No evenings or Saturday hours! Benefits range from paid vacation time to insurance benefits to a retirement fund.
Please send resume to firstname.lastname@example.org or call 704-281-4853.