Optician Training and Certification in Nevada

Nevada is one of only twenty-three states that require optician licensing by law. Official rules and regulations regarding optician training requirements, licensing, and certification are established by the Nevada Board of Dispensing Opticians. The following information will be important to you if you are hoping to be licensed as an optician in the state of Nevada.

Nevada State Opticianry Law:

Licensing: Chapter 637

A person shall not engage in the practice of ophthalmic dispensing or manage a business engaged in ophthalmic dispensing without holding a valid, active license.

General Eligibility Requirements:

  • At least 18 years of age
  • Of good moral character
  • A citizen of the United States, or is lawfully entitled to remain and work in the United States
  • A graduate of an accredited high school or its equivalent

Technical Skills and Training Requirements:

  • Successfully completed a course of instruction on the fitting of contact lenses
  • Completed at least 100 hours of training and experience in the fitting of and filling of prescriptions for contact lenses under the direct supervision of a licensed dispensing optician, a licensed ophthalmologist, or a licensed optometrist
  • Has completed at least one of the following…
      • Served as an apprentice dispensing optician for not less than 3 years in an optical establishment where prescriptions for spectacles or contact lenses are fitted and filled and has passed an educational program on the theory of ophthalmic dispensing
      • Successfully completed an associates degree in ophthalmic dispensing approved by the Board and has had 1 year of ophthalmic experience as an apprentice dispensing optician under the direct supervision of a licensed dispensing optician, licensed ophthalmologist or licensed optometrist

Opticianry Degree Programs:

Optician Training in NevadaThe College of Southern Nevada, located in Las Vegas, offers a 2-year Associate of Applied Science Degree in Ophthalmic Dispensing. This program only admits 15 students each year and it is recommended that you strictly adhere to deadlines when submitting your application. The admissions committee will be looking at whether you attended their Health Programs Orientation as well as previous education, ophthalmic related work experience, community service, and prior college courses.

You can learn more about admission requirements by clicking here. The college has also created a list of essential functions of ophthalmic dispensing students. You will be required to be able to perform these functions in order to be admitted. Click Here to view the list.

Individuals interested in applying to this program are strongly encourage to complete the tasks outlined on the new student checklist.

Examination Requirements:

Fees and Forms:

  • Application for Licensing, $350
  • Apprentice License, $100
  • Renewal Application, $300
  • Apprentice Renewal Application, $50


State Contact Information:

Nevada State SealPhone:          (775) 853-1421
Fax:              (775) 853-1408
E-mail:         nvbdo@govmail.state.nv.us

State of Nevada Board of Dispensing Opticians
5565 Wedgewood Circle
Sparks, NV 89436

Web Site:   State of Nevada Board of Dispensing Opticians

6 Responses

  1. Latacia
    Latacia April 8, 2015 at 2:27 am | | Reply

    I am currently in Oregon and I have been a working optician trained on Contacts and Glasses. I am becoming certified in Oregon after 7 years of experience. If I am certified does this transfer or can it be transferred to Nevada for licensing or will I have to just take another test for this state?. I am really wanting to move but want to work this out before moving so I can look for work right away in the field I am trained in.

  2. Sharon Pecinovsky
    Sharon Pecinovsky June 12, 2014 at 12:49 pm | | Reply

    I have been a licensed optician in California for 23 years. I am interested in moving to Nevada. I have worked at a doctor’s office, but the doctor has now moved and I have no idea where. Most places I have worked only allowed me to train contact lens insertion and removal. I currently work at Costco and am able to transfer. I need to have the 100 hrs of contact lens training and am trying to find a place here in California to do it. I think I have met the other requirements.

    I have not yet finished the ophthalmic dispenser license application. I have gone to school in California to be an optician. Would I need anything else, would I need credit for prior experience? It states that an individual may apply for up to two years of credit for experience and training if not previously licensed as an apprentice. Would I need to sign up for the apprenticeship application as well?

  3. Terry Harris
    Terry Harris November 24, 2013 at 5:15 pm | | Reply

    I have submitted my application for licensure as a Licensed Dispensing Optician in Nevada. I am currently licensed in other states (North Carolina, Virginia, Washington, Alaska, California and Hawaii). Does Nevada offer licensure by reciprocity with any of these states?

Please Leave Your Comment Below.

Leave a Reply to Terry Harris Click here to cancel reply.