Optician Training and Certification in Connecticut

Connecticut is one of only twenty-three states that require optician licensing by law. Rules and regulations regarding optician training requirements, licensing, and certification are established by the Connecticut Department of Public Health. The following information will be relevant to you if you are wanting to be licensed as an optician in the state of Connecticut.

Connecticut State Opticianry Law:


Regulations: Sections 20-145 – 20-162

A licensed optician shall be defined as follows: One having a knowledge of optics and skilled in the technique of producing and reproducing ophthalmic lenses and kindred products and mounting the same to supporting materials and the fitting of the same to the eyes.

No person shall produce or reproduce ophthalmic lenses and similar products or mount the same to supporting materials or fit the same by mechanical manipulation, molding techniques or other related functions, unless such person is licensed by the department of public health.

Any person who is licensed to perform optical services in any other state or territory with licensure requirements similar to or higher than those required in this state shall be eligible for licensure without examination.

Technical Skill and Training Requirements:

  • Hold an associates degree in ophthalmic dispensing approved by the Connecticut Board of Examiners, or
  • Have completed at least four years and 8,000 hours of apprenticeship training


Ophthalmic Design and Dispensing Degree (OD&D)

Middlesex Community College, located in Middletown, offers one of only two optician degree programs available among the New England states. This degree program is specifically tailored for individuals who wish to become licensed opticians. Completion of the program can be used as an alternative to the four-year 8,000 hour apprenticeship requirement established by the state.

Optician Training in ConnecticutThis program has limited capacity and it is important that you apply early. There is a placement test that must be completed in order to be considered for admittance and you must place into both ENG 101 and MATH 137 to be eligible. A grade of C or better is required in your ophthalmic dispensing courses in order to receive your degree.

The Middlesex OD&D Degree Program has been designed to give you time to work while you attend school. Classes are generally held only three days per week so that you have plenty of time to work and study. This makes degree completion far more likely for those who are dependent on income from a regular job. Most students are able to complete the program in 2 years.

You can learn more about this program by visiting the college website or by clicking here to view the Ophthalmic Design and Dispensing Degree Program brochure.

Examination Requirements:


Documentation Requirements:


Fees and Forms:

  • Filing for a license, $200
  • Renewal application, $200
  • Reinstatement, $200

State Contact Information:

Phone:          (860) 509-7603
Fax:              (860) 707-1929
Connecticut State SealE-mail:         dph.dentalteam@ct.gov

410 Capitol Ave. MS #12 APP
PO Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134

Web Site:          Connecticut Department of Public Health

State Association:         Connecticut Opticians Association

2 Responses

  1. leigh
    leigh December 31, 2013 at 5:59 pm | | Reply

    Would I be eligible for the 2 year optician program if I do not have an Associate’s Degree? I do have some Allied Health education and 10 years of work experience in a major NJ hospital including a 1 year life coach counselor certificate. I just turned 63 years old and I am looking to improve my life. Thank You!

Please Leave Your Comment Below.

Leave a Reply to leigh Click here to cancel reply.