Optician Training and Certification in Arizona

Arizona is one of only twenty-three states that require optician licensing by law. The state rules and regulations regarding optician training requirements, licensing, and certification are established by the Arizona State Board of Dispensing Opticians. The following information will be applicable to you if you are wanting to be licensed as a dispensing optician in the state of Arizona.

Licensing: §32-1681 – §32-1687


A person shall not practice as a dispensing optician in this state without a valid license issued pursuant to this chapter. The board shall issue a license to any person who complies with the provisions of this chapter and board rules. All licenses expire at the end of each calendar year but do not expire while an application for renewal is pending before the board.

Applicant Qualification Requirements:

  • Be of good moral character
      • 3 letters attesting to good moral character
  • Has not been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude
  • Has not been a former licensee under this chapter whose license was suspended or revoked and not subsequently reinstated
  • Be a high school graduate or the equivalent as prescribed by rules of the board
  • Has the required technical skill and training necessary for licensing
      • 2 letters verifying employment (in opticianry field) over the past six years
  • Picture of yourself taken within the past 6 months

To learn more about the specifics of these qualifying requirements click here.


Technical Skill and Training Requirements:

Your technical skills and training may be substantiated by supplying evidence showing any of the following requirements.

  • A valid license from another state
  • An apprenticeship, under the supervision of an optician, optometrist or physician, for three of the six years preceding the date of application
  • Graduation from a school of optical dispensing that meets the standards for approval by a nationally recognized body on opticianry accreditation. Must have served an apprenticeship for one of the six years preceding the date of application
  • Worked as a dispensing optician in a nonlicensing state for three of the six years preceding the date of application

Examination Requirements:

To assist in determining if an applicant has acquired the minimum basic skills required for optical dispensing, the board shall require a written and practical examination of all applicants for an initial license. You will be approved to take the practical examination once the board has evaluated your licensing qualifications and determined that you meet the requirements.

Practical examinations are administered in March and September of each year. The deadline to submit the application for the examination is 45 days prior to the examination date. The examination is administered at 1400 W. Washington, Phoenix, AZ Room B-1.

Examination dates for 2013: March 5th and September 4th

Deadlines for application submission: January 18th and July 19th

The board will issue a license if you successfully complete this examination.

License Renewal Guidelines:

You will be required to submit a renewal application on or before December 31st of each year. Renewal applications submitted after December 31st but before January 31st will incur a late fee. The board may allow a licensee additional time to submit a renewal application if the licensee demonstrates to the board’s satisfaction good cause to do so.


Fees and Forms:

  • License Application, $100
  • License Issuance, $100
  • License Renewal, $135
  • License Late Renewal, $235

State Contact Information:

Phone:          (602) 542-8158
Fax:              (602) 542-3093
Arizona State SealEmail:           sharshines@yahoo.com

1400 West Washington Room 320     Phoenix, AZ 85007

Web Site:       Arizona State Board of Dispensing Opticians

Association:   Arizona Association of Dispensing Opticians

4 Responses

  1. Jelena
    Jelena October 4, 2014 at 7:37 am | | Reply

    Is it absolutely necessary to have 6 years work experience in the opticianary field in order to be eligible to become a liscenced optician? I am 32 and had my heart set on becoming an optician but I’d be 38 before I would qualify. Am I misunderstanding this?

  2. Vickie Haenitsch
    Vickie Haenitsch August 20, 2014 at 8:09 pm | | Reply

    I am confused about renewing my ABO Certification. It doesn’t say if I need CEC? So do I just pay it?

Please Leave Your Comment Below.

Leave a Reply to Jelena Click here to cancel reply.