Optician Training and Certification in Vermont

Vermont is one of only twenty-three states that require optician licensing by law. Rules and regulations regarding optician training requirements, licensing, and certification are set by the Vermont Secretary of State Office of Professional Regulation. The following information will be relevant to you if you are wanting to be licensed as an optician in the state of Vermont.


Vermont State Opticianry Law:

Licensing: Chapter 47

No one is allowed to practice as an optician in Vermont unless he or she is currently licensed.

General Eligibility Requirements:

  • At least 18 years old
  • Have a high school diploma or its equivalent


Technical Skills and Training Requirements:

Licensure by Reciprocity:

An applicant who holds a valid current license in good standing in another United States or Canadian jurisdiction where the current requirements for regulating or licensing opticians are substantially equal to Vermont’s current requirements may be issued a license.


Fees and Forms:

  • Application for Licensure, $100
  • Optician Renewal Application, $200
  • Optician Trainee Application, $50
  • Optician Trainee Renewal, $100

State Contact Information:

Phone:          (802) 828-1501
Vermont State SealFax:              (802) 828-2465
E-mail:         danielle.rubalcaba@sec.state.vt.us

Office of Professional Regulation
National Life Building, North, FL 2
Montpelier, Vermont 05620-3402

Web Site:   Vermont Office of Professional Regulation

Please Leave Your Comment Below.

Leave a Reply