Tennessee is one of only twenty-three states that require optician licensing by law. Rules and regulations regarding optician training requirements, licensing, and certification are established by the Tennessee Department of Health. The following information will be relevant to you if you are wanting to be licensed as an optician in the state of Tennessee.
Tennessee State Opticianry Law:
It is unlawful for any person who is not licensed to represent himself as a dispensing optician or to hold himself out to the public as being licensed by means of using a title on signs, mailboxes, address plates, stationery, announcement, telephone listings, calling cards, or other instruments of professional identification.
General Eligibility Requirements:
- At least 18 years of age
- Well regarded in moral character and professional ethics
- Graduate of an accredited high school or possess an equivalency
Technical Skills and Training Requirements:
- Must complete one of the following…
- A two-year course of study in opticianry in a college level program
- Practical experience and training (apprenticeship) of a grade and character satisfactory to the board for not less than three years under the supervision of a licensed dispensing optician, a licensed optometrist, or a licensed ophthalmologist.
If the applicant holds an unrestricted dispensing optician license in another state, the length of time for that state’s training and supervised experience requirements for initial licensure shall be considered as time toward fulfilling Tennessee’s three (3) year requirement.
Opticianry Degree Programs:
Roane State Community College, located in Harriman, offers a 2-year Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) Degree in Opticianry. Upon completion of the program, graduates are eligible to apply to take the Tennessee State Licensing Exams. To learn more about the admissions process and the steps you will need complete prior to enrollment, click here. If you are interested in viewing a detailed list of the opticianry degree plan, click here.
- The National Opticianry Competency Examination (NOCE) administered by the American Board of Opticianry (ABO)
- The minimum passing score in Tennessee is 70
- The National Contact Lens Registry Examination (CLRE) administered by the National Contact Lens Examiners (NCLE)
- The minimum passing score in Tennessee is 72
- Tennessee Dispensing Optician Examination
- The minimum passing score is 70 on each portion of the examination
- The Tennessee Jurisprudence Examination
- The minimum passing score is 90
- This is an open-book examination
Fees and Forms:
- Application for Optician License, $270
- Application for Apprenticeship, $110
State Contact Information:
Phone: (615) 532-5138
Fax: (615) 532-5369
Board of Dispensing Opticians
227 French Landing, Suite 300
Nashville, TN 37243
Web Site: Tennessee Board of Dispensing Opticians
Association: Tennessee Dispensing Opticians Association