Optician Training and Certification in Ohio

Ohio is one of only twenty-three states that require optician licensing by law. Rules and regulations regarding optician training requirements, licensing, and certification are established by the Ohio Optical Dispensers Board. The following information will be relevant to you if you are wanting to be licensed as an optician in the state of Ohio.

Ohio State Opticianry Law:

Licensing: Chapter 4725

All individuals must apply for licensure from the Ohio Optical Dispensers Board in order to practice as a dispensing optician and to hold themselves out to be a licensed dispensing optician in Ohio.

General Eligibility Requirements:

  • At least eighteen years of age
  • Of good moral character
  • Free of contagious or infectious disease
  • Graduate of an accredited high school of any state or equivalent

Technical Skills and Training Requirements:

  • Optician Training in OhioHas completed one of the following…
      • A two year apprenticeship of at least one thousand hours per year in optical dispensing under direct supervision of an optician, of which one year of not less than 30 hours per week of supervised optical experience under direction of a dispensing optician which may be used towards the apprenticeship requirements.
      • Two years of experience of a least one thousand (1000) hours per year of direct supervision and in the employment of an optometrist or ophthalmologist.
      • A two-year college level program in optical dispensing that has been approved by the board.

Opticianry Degree Programs:

Cuyahoga Community College, located in Cleveland, offers a 2-year Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) Degree in Optical Technology. Graduates must complete a minimum of 69 credit hours in order to complete the program. A detailed coursework outline is available by clicking here. If you think you might be interested in applying, be sure to review the full application packet.

Examination Requirements:

Licensure by Reciprocity:

If you have been previously licensed as a dispensing optician in another state, you can be issued a license in Ohio as long as the examination and training requirements in your previous state are comparable to the standards in Ohio.

Fees and Forms:

  • Licensure Application, $50
  • Apprentice Registration, $20
  • Reciprocity License Application, $50

State Contact Information:

Phone:          (614) 466-9709
Fax:              (614) 995-5392
Ohio State SealE-mail:         odb@odb.ohio.gov

Ohio Optical Dispensers Board
77 South High Street, 16th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215

Web Site:   Ohio Optical Dispensers Board

State Association:    Opticians Association of Ohio

2 Responses

  1. Paula
    Paula October 3, 2013 at 6:44 am | | Reply

    I am presently (10 years) the owner/operator of an optical dispensary. I have been dispensing eyeglasses as an Optician for over 20 years. All in a state that doesn’t require a license to practice Opticianry. Is there any reciprocity for my licensure in Ohio? I’ve heard as long as you have 5 years of verifiable employment as an Optician you can obtain a license in Ohio as long as you can pass the state board exams. If this is an option, how do I go about that? Thank you.

Please Leave Your Comment Below.

Leave a Reply to Paula Click here to cancel reply.