New Hampshire is one of only twenty-three states that require optician licensing by law. Rules and regulations regarding optician training requirements, licensing, and certification are established by the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services. The following information will be relevant to you if you are wanting to be licensed as an optician in the state of New Hampshire.
New Hampshire State Opticianry Law:
It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in ophthalmic dispensing or the practice of dispensing contact lenses unless registered and unless the registration of such person is current and valid.
Unlike other states that require licensure, New Hampshire does not impose technical skill, training, or examination requirements. The only requirement is that you submit an application for a certificate of registration.
The commissioner shall issue a certificate of registration for ophthalmic dispensing to any person who files an application for such certificate accompanied by the required application and registration fees within 30 days after the filing of such application.
Fees and Forms:
- Application for Registration, $100
- Application for Renewal, $100
State Contact Information:
Phone: (603) 271-9254
Fax: (603) 271-5590
E-mail: Submit Here
Licensing and Certification Services
129 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301
State Association: New Hampshire Opticians Society